Meetings & Events Australia (MEA) has announced twelve recipients of the 2020 MEA Diploma of Event Management Scholarship program designed to upskill and create more job opportunities for people living in regional communities across New South Wales (NSW).

The new students, who are from the six Destination Networks in NSW, will undertake the Diploma via an online portal and have access to face-to-face workshops every 10 weeks, ‘boot camps’ and webinars to support them during their study.

The New South Wales Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism, Western Sydney, the Hon. Stuart Ayres, said: “The initiative is part of the NSW Government’s $6 million Regional Conferencing Strategy and Action Plan.”

“The business events sector presents a major opportunity for the visitor economy of regional NSW, particularly as we steer our path to recovery.

“We know that the best way forward is helping to create more jobs and these scholarships will do exactly that – giving people the tools and extra support needed to kick-start their careers in the field of event management.  I congratulate the twelve scholarship recipients who are already making valuable contributions to their local communities and wish them every success as they begin their diploma studies and continue their journeys in the events sector.”

MEA CEO Robyn Johnson said: “MEA looks forward to welcoming its third intake of regional students at a time when creating skills is key to enhancing career opportunities in regional NSW where growth in events is expected due to restrictions and uncertainty about overseas travel.

“In the past year, we have seen scholarship recipients graduate with their MEA Diploma of Event Management putting their skills gained from undertaking the course to great effect and adding value to their regions.”

The twelve recipients were selected by a panel, which included representatives from the NSW Government’s tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW, Meetings & Events Australia and its six Destination Networks.

The MEA scholarship program recipients are:

Aaron Bykerk – Albury

James Rodgers – Branxton

Joe Ann Williams – Nelson Bay

Jumana Schriefer – Coffee Camp

Kelly Brown – Burrill Lake

Kersti Martin – Thirlmere

Leesa Peck – Moonbi

Magdalena Mager – Casino

Miriam Hewson – Adelong

Sara Wightman – Queanbeyan

Congratulations to all of the recipients from the micenet team.