Awards were hotly contested for 2016, with winners announced at the ICC Sydney in May. (Images by Oneill Photographics)

The awards recognise excellence in the meetings and events industry across Australia.
More than 600 industry members, colleagues and guests attended the dinner which was held on the last day of the 2017 National Conference. The winners are:
Association or Government Meeting of the Year – Associated Advertising & Promotions
Special Event of the Year – Official Opening of Student Hub & Plaza/Launch of 50th Anniversary Celebrations
Cause Related Event of the Year – Peter Jones Special Events for BrainBeats
Meetings & Events Management Organisation 8 or more Employees – MCI-Group Australia
Meetings & Events Management Organisation less than 8 Employees – Wise Connections
Event Management Organisation – Forum Group Events
In-House Meetings Management Department – Qld Department of Education & Training Programs & Events Unit
Meeting Venue under 500 Delegates – Crowne Plaza Terrigal
Meeting Venue more than 500 Delegates – Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre
Specialty Meeting Venue – UNSW Venues & Events
Specialty Event Venue – Star Entertainment Group
CSR Award – MCI-Group Australia and Sydney Showground (joint winners)
Education Award – MCI-Group Australia
Banquet & Catering – Sydney Showground
Technical & Creative Production 8 or more Employees – Scene Change Sydney
Technical & Creative Production – less than 8 Employees – Scene Change Adelaide
Technical & Creative Production – In-House AV Services
Support Services – Song Division
Exhibition Services – Adelaide Expo Hire
Regional Destination Marketing Organisation – Business Events Geelong
Operations Person of the Year – Darren Southurst – Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre
Business Development Person of the Year – Christie Knox – Maple Event Group
PCO of the Year – Robyn Gardner – GEMS Event Management
Event Manager of the Year – Megan Peters – International Productions
YMEA Future Leader – Ashleigh Taylor – CrownGroup
Platinum Individual Winner – Christie Knox – Maple Event Group
Platinum Company Winner – Associated Advertising & Promotions
Outstanding Contribution Award – Nigel Collin
The following companies are now inducted into the MEA Hall of Fame having won the same award for three consecutive years:
Scene Change Adelaide
Adelaide Expo Hire
Business Events Geelong
Star Entertainment Group